Designer Spotlight: Rex D

received_10157944655170413

Do this designer need a introduction? He is beast all by himself and NO I am not saying this because I am bias. Seriously, if you haven’t seen his work you are missing out.  No worries! Here is a up close and personal interview with Domo of Rex D.

1.Who are you and what do you do?  My name is Dominic but i go by Domo & I’m a outerwear designer

2.Inspiration behind your collection? Inspiration behind the name? My debut collection will not be released until spring/summer 17. So stay on the look out for that. It will be inspired by Aaliyah. She was the first fashion figure to inspire me as a kid.

Rex is Latin for King. I’m a full blood Leo, so it was only right.

 

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

3.How long have you been designing? I’ve been designing for only 5 years,but I’ve always had plans to be a designer ever since I was younger. I would sneak and play dress-up games online. I’ve watched every season of Project runway. When I graduated high school, I just went for it.

4.How did you get started? One day my best friend and I was chilling while listening to Rihanna’s Unapologetic album,and I randomly decided to cut sleeves off my shirt for a vest. I made a bow tie with the sleeves, and from that moment I started designing.

5.What do you like and dislike about today’s fashion? I like that everyone is becoming fearless and open to trying new things with fashion. The only thing i dislike about today’s fashion is how easy it is for others to knockoff your designs. Many designers work really hard to come up with a product and its a slap in the face to see a knockoff version of your hard work.

6.Describe your ideal closet? All Black Everything & Unlimited Sneakers.

7.Lastly, what is your influence? What do you think people take from you? I just want people to see that no matter what other’s say or do to you, KEEP GOING! If I listened to other’s,I wouldn’t be designing right now. You only live once so make the most of it and ride your dream until the fucking wheels fall off.

fb_img_1485436260772

You can shop with Rex D at www.RexD.Us. Find him on IG: Rexdbydomo

Leave a Reply

