Designer Spotlight: Luxshari

She is Pretty for a big girl, Umm NO, she is pretty because she is Pretty. Size doesn’t matter when it comes to beauty or the confidence of a woman. I love this movement that all women all around the world is standing up for. They are removing the barriers that states that women have to be a certain size to be beautiful, to be fabulous and to be well dressed, with that being said, it’s an honor to feature Shari who is the founder of Luxshari. Shari is a plus size fashion designer and a makeup artist. Check out what she had to say below.

image2-1

 

Who are you and what do you do?  Hi, my name is Shari and I am a melanin filled, plus sized fashion designer.

Inspiration behind your collection? Inspiration behind the name? My brand name is Luxshari. My inspiration comes from my childhood. No one in my family was a seamstress or designer, so no, not like that. I was always the heaviest or the tallest in school growing up. Going to different stores it wasn’t always easy to find my size,and when I did, I’d look older.

image3

How long have you been designing? I have been designing for two years.

How did you get started? One day I stopped making excuses and took that jump! I was nervous, but I did it!

What do you like and dislike about today’s fashion? All of us curvier girls know the struggle of brands making plus size women look unattractive ! That’s what I dislike about fashion ! Most designers produce for smaller or sample size models. SOMETIMES,I understand only because the cost of fabric but every plus size woman doesn’t want to be fully covered! Or is that what the world wants to see ? Plus size women have horrible stereotypes and I hope to be another PLUS SIZE DESIGNER to break those walls.

Describe your idea closet? My ideal closet is (Luxshari) LUXURY everything ! I love Chanel so some of her items as well! She is also my influence. Her collection never altered after all these years and I’m thankful. Keeping everything sleek, timeless, and for the woman .

image1-1

Lastly,what is your influence? What do you think people take from you? As I grow I can only hope others take inspiration from me. I want others to look at me and keep striving towards their own goals. Never give up .

If you would like to get in  contact with Luxshari, you can reach her at ig: @_Luxshari . Email: skhinton89@gmail.com

One Comment Add yours

  1. Robin A. Adams says:

    I am always excited when I see the creative talent that Shari is skilled to make women inner with shines on the outside after the makeover The 😌 says it all!
    Oh the clothing line is extraordinary and I am looking forward to being a customer as well as networking with Luxshari in the future.
    Do what you love and remember time is money Shari!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

