Artist Spotlight: Pharoah Kepri

13.jpg

Fashion is derived from Art. Art plays a major factor in everything from the music to the clothes that we wear.Many designers find most of there inspiration from paintings,buildings,flowers etc. So it was no hesitation about featuring today’s Artist.  Get to know Anthony below and see how fashion and art comes hand in hand.

Who are you and what do you do? My name is Anthony Smith (Pharoh Khepri) and I am a photographer in Northeast Florida.
17571808_1432543186766693_9745614_o
How did you know that this is what you wanted to do? I have always been fascinated by pictures and manipulations so i knew in about 8th grade that pictures would be my way of telling stories and i have loved it since then.
Where do you see yourself in 5 to 10 years?  5 to 10 years i see myself setting up a home base and having a studio to truly dive into my creative pocket and create images that will take breath and stop hearts. And of course traveling to shoot people and places all over the world.
What do you like and dislike about art today? I love when art is expressed in its rawest form from the mind of someone who doesn’t see in 2D. I don’t like when nudity is constantly sexualized because nudity is the most beautiful and vulnerable thing and it should be tastefully showcased without fear or judgement.
What’s the inspiration behind your collection of work? I chose to take it back to the very beginning. The creation. The garden of Eden. Showing when we were comfortable in our own skin and didn’t need buildings, air conditioning, cars, fast food. Living off of the earth and protecting the forbidden fruit. Humans on day 1.
How do fashion and art intertwined? Fashion is a reflection of art, individuality is so important and fashion is your inner art displayed on your canvas(body). It is all connected. The way we blend colors and patterns. Its art on a moving canvas to me!
Describe your ideal closet? An ideal closet would be something out of a T.I. suit collection mixed with an Odell Beckham urban wear side. Throw in a touch of Tyga’s west coast style as well.
A trend that has caught your eye this year? I went to Toronto and the long shirts with the zippers on the side with some joggers hit me hard. I had to play along with it. It is a cool new twist on male fashion and its pushing the envelope.
 17548860_1431379546883057_1644878808_o
What’s Style to you? Style to me is what tells the story about someone before they even open their mouth. Your style should tell someone who you are with a glance.
What’s your influence? What do you think people take from you? I live for originality and freedom. I want my work to make others step out of their comfort zone and try new things and accept their beauty in any shape or form that its in. I think people will take a fresh vibe and open mind from me. I like to view things from all angles so hopefully after working with me, people can stop being 1 dimensional.
8

It was a pleasure getting to know Anthony! If you would like to keep up with him and work of art, you can via. Also, Shout out to the featured models: T’keyah Wilson, Dhom Alarico, Johnnie Brant,Kenneth Temple, Devin Williams.

Leave a Reply

